Public Schools

4 Pine Street
RR 2, BOX 261
Vineyard Haven, 02568
Ph: 508.693.2007; Fax: 508.693.3190

There are five public elementary schools and a regional high school on the Vineyard, administered through the office of the Superintendent of Schools. Edgartown, Oak Bluffs, Tisbury, and West Tisbury schools serve students K-8. The Chilmark School serves students in grades K-5. Chilmark students in grades 6-8 attend the West Tisbury School. Aquinnah students K-8 attend Chilmark and West Tisbury Schools. Aquinnah, Chilmark, and West Tisbury are members of the Up-Island Regional School District. Additionally, the Martha’s Vineyard Public Charter School (administered independently) serves grades K-12. A number of private preschools and an active homeschooling network also serve the educational needs of the Island.

Chapter 766 provides for the educational needs of children with special needs. The school system provides for every child, regardless of handicap, between the ages of 3 and 22. The law requires parental involvement and a network of services including that of a school psychologist, occupational therapist, and psychiatric and nursing services under the direction of a special education administrator. The school system also operates a special needs preschool, Project Headway.

The vocational education program teaches skills to students who have chosen careers while still in high school. Vocational majors are offered in horticulture, culinary arts, automotive and marine mechanics, and the building trades.

Edgartown School
RR1, Box 6, Robinson Road
Edgartown 02539
Chilmark School
8 State Road, PO Box 60
Chilmark 02535
Oak Bluffs School
1 Tradewinds Rd., PO Box 1325
Oak Bluffs 02557
Tisbury School
40 W. William St., PO Box 878
Vineyard Haven 02568
Martha’s Vineyard Regional High School
100 Edgartown-Vineyard Haven Rd.,
P.O. Box 1385
Oak Bluffs 02557
508.693.1033, ext. 111
West Tisbury School
401 Old County Road, Box 250
West Tisbury 02575
Project Headway (Preschool)
RR2, Box 261
Vineyard Haven 02568

The Island has six school committees: one for each of the elementary districts of Edgartown, Oak Bluffs, Tisbury, and the Up-Island Regional School District; the Regional High School District Committee; and the All-Island School Committee.

Town school committees consist of three members elected for three-year terms and serve as governing bodies for elementary education in their towns. The Up-Island Regional District Committee has five members: one from each town, plus two at large. They are elected in November to serve for four years.

The Regional High School Committee has nine members appointed from the town and Up-Island Regional District committees. Working closely with the school principal, committee members set policy and deal with matters concerning school finance and contracts.

The All-Island School Committee is composed of all the members of the town and Up-Island Regional District committees. This committee hires the superintendent and oversees shared programs that serve all Island schools.